Some of My Favorite Quotes from “Kick the Drink…Easily!” by Jason Vale

Even though I KNOW it is not going to be easy – here are some gems I highlighted…it really was an eye-opening different perspective on things.  As they say, take what you need, and leave the rest behind.  I didn’t necessarily agree with everything he had to say, but hey – I’m here today on the right path, so that is something 🙂

1.  “It (alcohol) is the only drug in the world where, when you stop taking it, you are seen as having a problem.”

2.  “If you stop smoking you are seen as a hero; if you stop drinking you are seen as a freak.”

3.  “From the second you know you have consumed your last drink you are free.  This is without doubt the most bizarre prison in the world.  It is the only prison where people count the days after being released.”

4.  “Why would you want to try to gain control of something that does nothing for you?  Why would you want to try to control a disease instead of getting rid of it?”

5.  “Most drinkers you meet will secretly envy you.”

4 thoughts on “Some of My Favorite Quotes from “Kick the Drink…Easily!” by Jason Vale

  1. Hi MG! Glad you are on the right path today! I wonder if I can get this book on kindle – I’ll have to check. Why would you want to control a disease instead of getting rid of it? I don’t know if this is a disease that you can actually get rid of though? It feels like a disease I will always have!

    • I checked for you 🙂 It’s on there for $9.79. Make sure you use your highlight feature when you are reading it. I bought the paperback copy and it is full of yellow! I know what you mean by feeling doomed by it, but maybe once we can kick its sorry ass, it will go away forever? Not that we won’t always have to be cognizant though. Have a great rest of the day!

  2. thanks for the reminders, it’s been a while since I read his book but I remember it being hugely helpful to me early on. I’d like to think that most drinkers I come into contact with envy me… but I think there are lots of lucky normal drinkers out there who just actually don’t ‘get’ it at all (what addiction to booze is like). Maybe the boozers and addicts I come into contact with do have a little bit of envy, maybe deep down, even if they can’t quite put their finger on it. It’s such a tricky twisted head game this drinking lark. Great to see you exercising your grey matter and retraining it out of bad habits. You’re doing great!!

  3. Thanks Mrs. D 🙂 I do agree that there are some true “lucky, normal” drinkers out there. What I have to remember is that my wiring is not the same. Red light for me means another bottle will make it even better (ha ha ha). The encouragement is surely helping and I am glad to be connected to all of you out here in cyberspace!

What Are Your Thoughts?

