Small Victory

So…usually by now I’m having a glass or two from a second bottle of wine. But I can honestly say that halfway through my second glass from the FIRST bottle I literally had a conversation in my head to the effect of WTF are you doing and why?

I immediately brushed my teeth and washed my face and poured the rest of the glass down the drain. I did some reading, caught up on email and am happy to be turning in early so I can get my daughter up at 6:30 AM for her first varsity track meet (as a 10th grader!!) Then I will need to get up and going to be at the meet by 10.

Am I cured? Hell to the no! Do I think I can drink normally? Nah…wishful thinking. It may not seem like much but I am always SO hard on myself that sometimes I have to realize and celebrate positive things, no matter how small or insignificant they may seem. Good nite all!!!

7 thoughts on “Small Victory

    • It’s so nice to have others who “get” this! I woke up when hubby did at 4:30 AM and never could get back to sleep. But a few hours of good sleep is obviously better than more hours of bad sleep. It’s 7:30 AM now and I’m hopping in the treadmill, showering and BUNDLING UP for the track meet. With wind chill it’s about 29 degrees outside. Oh. And the downstairs heat is broken. Awesome. But I plan to make it a great day!!!

  1. Good for you! What a perfect example of how NOT being perfect is awesome. You are up early and feeling good & most importantly you will be completely there for your daughter. Huge congrats!

  2. Had to smile at:
    “I literally had a conversation in my head to the effect of WTF are you doing and why?”
    I ask myself those questions quite often, lol.

    Congrats on your small victories! Celebrate every success and know that each day makes you stronger. Have a great weekend!
    Christy

  3. Good move! Bet you woke up feeling great. That small conversation in your head reveals the grit you have lurking in your brain just waiting to be exercised to the full. Go you! xxx

  4. You did something that i don’t think I ever did in my drinking days and that is throw perfectly booze down the drain…once a bottle open, I killed it…unless I was saving it to calm the inevitable morning shakes. Good for you…proud of you 🙂

    • This might show up twice…oops. Was replying and I had a comment and don’t know where that screen went

      Honesty? Sadness? I used to always pour my wine back into its proper bottle with a funnel. Waste wine? Fuck no. But the pouring last night felt good. A step in the right direction. By no means perfection but just trying to move forwards ya know?! Thanks!!!

What Are Your Thoughts?

