WAH…Real Life AWESOMENESS is Interfering with My Time to Blog

I guess this is actually a good thing…but it is UBER hard for me to not spend hours every day READING all of your amazing blogs and COMMENTING that I totally relate and RELISHING in the comments on my blog…BUT…I’m keeping super busy and I can’t let myself get into a state of overwhelmedness.

My daily routine hasn’t changed much. Up at 5 AM. Gym class at 5:30 AM. Spiritual/recovery reading from about 6:45 AM until 7:15 AM – plus I started working the steps for AA. Email check for work/freshen up for 1/2 hour. AA meeting from 8 AM to 9 AM. WORK (and I mean work HARD) from 9 AM to 6 PM. Cook a healthy dinner. Watch relatively mindless TV and enjoy quiet time with my family. Read my “real” book from about 10 PM to 11 PM. SLEEP. Lather, rinse, repeat.

Mix in a few doctor’s appts (routine checkups), chiropractor appts, trips to the tag office and/or UPS Store (about to go through refinancing again and there is TONS of paperwork to deal with) and my week is shot.

I “cheated” a bit and copy/pasted some of my check in emails to Belle. A quick email is super manageable for me, and if any of you would like to become “email buddies”, I may be better at that to connect on a more individual level. I desperately hope to work towards balance so that I do have more time to read and comment on blogs because I ENJOY that. At this point, I guess it feels like a luxury and I will simply have to work towards that reward πŸ™‚

For now…here is a brief synopsis of my week so far. Happy Day to everyone!

Thursday, April 4th:

Morning check in πŸ™‚ SLAMMED with work. Found myself hoping/praying for more hours in the day. I totally miss blogging – but by the time I have done my morning spiritua/recovery reading, then gone to a meeting, it is just time to put on my big girl panties and get cracking. I ended up having to clean up someone’s mess on a project that was poorly mis-managed (on her end). I am disgruntled and frustrated – but also trying to see it as a time to shine and show what I’m made of.

I MISS MY BLOG! I MISS VISITING OTHER BLOGS. Life just seems so full of my real world stuff that it becomes hard to do a “quick check in” because there are so many folks I like to check in with. I think I’m gonna copy/paste this again (what a slacker I feel like – but I’m going to revisit that thought and call it effiiciency).

To all my blog peeps…I think about you every day. I try to read new posts/comments on the “reader” function of my phone. I WANT TO comment and tell you how much you all mean to me…and will do my absolute best to carve out a good hour to do that – either later today or tomorrow. But for now, real life work stuff beckons, so gotta hop to it πŸ™‚

Wednesday, April 3rd

Sorry…not sure where I stand on the 100 Day Challenge as I have been uber focused on my 30 day chip, which I am slated to receive on Monday. My days have been calmer and I am feeling more patient lately. Trying to do more turning things over to my Higher Power, and using my time well to focus on all aspects of my sobriety. First and foremost of course is not drinking. My 5:30 AM classes at the gym are getting my days off to a great start. Spiritual/recovery reading while I have coffee – can’t wait until it is a bit warmer to enjoy our balcony more. Meetings at 8 AM, and then the start of the work day. Cooking healthy dinners. Light TV with my hubby until he falls asleep and then “regular” reading for myself. Saw the most beautiful sunrise this morning…God is good and *I* am good πŸ™‚

Tuesday, April 2nd

Not quite sure of where my day went, but finally checking in!

I’m excited because I ordered two books (and got them) that are related to the 12 Steps, but are geared towards WOMEN. I am already having a much better understanding of the first step – because as you know – I had a real problem with the word powerless. My focus is now to start working the steps – using those 2 books (one is a workbook) along with the “traditional” copy of the AA literature.

Sometimes I get a little turned off by AA’ers who continue to “force feed” their way. I guess I’m “supposed” to have a sponsor to work the steps with, but why can’t I try to do the steps on my own, with continued focus on going to meetings, blogging, being accountable, using others in the group for support, etc?

The leader today said something to the effect that if you are not working the steps and doing it WITH a sponsor, then he won’t be surprised if he sees you drinking in a year. Nice, huh?

Anyways, I won’t let him pee on my day…It’s close to quitting time for work, and I’ll make a quick run to the grocery store for something to grill for dinner. Think I’ll sautee some mushrooms again since those are just SO yummy.

Hasta manana…

3 thoughts on “WAH…Real Life AWESOMENESS is Interfering with My Time to Blog

  1. wow! busy woman! Sounds like things are really going well for you right now. No worries about not blogging as much – I think it’s much better to be busy and enjoying life than to be tied down to the computer. Just report now and then πŸ˜‰

    As for the AA stuff you mentioned. You asked about working the steps on your own. The only reason it is recommended someone have a sponsor is that you get to work with someone who has been there before, who knows the ins and out of the steps, who you can get feedback from, who can show you the high spots and the low spots ahead, someone you can talk to. I don’t know about you, but I tried to do it on my own oh so many times, and my best thinking got me to detox, treatment, hospitals and arrested. That was me at my super best…lol. So I needed help.

    It’s like learning the violin. Sure you can learn from a book, or maybe even some tapes. but how do you know you are hitting the right notes and hitting the proper pitch? How do you know that you aren’t going too fast or going too slow? What happens if a string breaks, or it gets out of tune? Where do you go for help? What if the music is smudged and you don’t know how to read it? So, we go to someone who plays the violin (not the cello, not the oboe) and we ask her / him about learning to play the violin. They show us how to hold it, how to use the bow, where to put your fingers, etc. They show us how much to practice, when not to practice, etc. That is sort of how I look at sponsorship. We are one alcoholic helping another…that’s the program. We grow when we help one another…I know for me I do when I talk to my sponsees and help them through the work.

    Just my $0.02…take it or leave it πŸ˜‰

    I like these bulk updates…badabing, badaboom!
    Paul

  2. Woah busy indeed. Sounds great if not a little tiring! You are doing awesome though, especially if you are stopping to notice things like beautiful sunrises. xxxx

  3. So glad everything is going great!!! Just wanted to tell you I love reading about how well you are doing. I am still trying to string more than 3 days together being alcohol free, and reading your blog always inspires me to start again. I want to feel clear and free and happy, and thats how you sound to me πŸ™‚ Have a great day today!!! Back to Day 1 for me again πŸ™‚

What Are Your Thoughts?

