Ordinary vs. Extraordinary

I had forgotten how much I have difficulty falling asleep during the early days of not drinking. Believe me – NO caffeine after about noon or so anymore, but last night, I simply could not get to sleep, even knowing that I had to wake up at 6:15 this morning. I tossed and turned and just couldn’t seem to shut my brain off. I also know that using technology after 9 PM or so is not good for me – and with getting home so late last night, I wanted to make sure I got a post in so no one would think I was “off the grid.” Also was able to send out a couple of emails, and of course I had to catch up on Facebook and Twitter 🙂

I’m thinking I may have actually been overtired b/c honestly, I was ready for bed at 8 PM. Instead, hubby and I watched some TV while daughter was working on school stuff for the upcoming year at a friend’s house. What I should have done is say to my hubs: “Ya know what honey. I am just uber tired right now and need to sleep. Do you mind waiting up for XXX to be sure she is home?” Easy peasy, and I 100% know he would have said ABSOLUTELY, but I felt this “obligation” to spend some time with him since daughter and I were gone much of the day. Dumb, dumb, dumb. At least I can recognize it now, and know what to do in the future. And a bad night’s sleep not drinking is BETTER than ANY night’s sleep that is associated with alcohol.

So what’s on tap for the day? Appreciated the awesomeness of coffee as I peeked out at a sky that was tinted with shades of pink and purple. Cooked the casseroles and got them to the school at 7:15 AM. Have done 2 loads of laundry, unloaded the dishwasher and tackled another cabinet. Just went through my inbox for work and so far, looks like a relatively decent day. Just read a few awesome blog posts and made some comments. Making a “to do” list for the day which includes 45 minutes on the treadmill. Have some awesome pen pals whom I will send emails to in a bit. And it’s only 9 AM! I’m having an ordinary day, but I’m gonna make it extraordinary!!!

Back to my morning check-ins b/c I need to TURN OFF MY BRAIN at night in order to get a good night’s sleep! Speaking of…a nap may be on the to do list for my lunch hour!

Peace out,

MG

6 thoughts on “Ordinary vs. Extraordinary

  1. My brain does the same thing at night. I takes me a long time to fall asleep when I don’t drink. I attribute my problem to lack of exercise. My body just isn’t tired because I don’t do anything very physical during the day! At least that’s my reasoning! Sounds like you are on a roll and I’m really happy for you!

    • I guess I’m just so used to numbing myself to sleep that it’s hard to simply FALL asleep instead of pass out. I do get my exercise in and feel SO tired…certainly not gonna use it as an excuse to get back on the rollercoaster! Thanks 🙂

  2. I love making an *ordinary day extraordinary* and how the gratitude for small things really helps with that. I’ve been following along with you – similar story and same reboot date too! Your honesty really resonates and for those of us on this journey, little snippets of small extraordinariness can be enough to help us through our day too. I don’t feel like I write well enough to blog or have enough worthwhile stuff to say (perhaps that says something I need to look at!) but get so much from others. It is amazing to find a community of wonderful, generous and positive people all working to support each other on the path to richer lives. Heartwarming stuff.

    • Hi TJ. Pretty cool that we have the same restart date and a similar journey!!! Never underestimate the power of your own writing, but thank you for reaching out to say hi! We are all in this together for sure!! Have a great day!!!

  3. So glad to see your back and have joined the 100 day challenge. I’m 21 days in and can completely relate to some of the issues you’ve experienced. I’m loving life sober, but I feel like I’m making other people uncomfortable with it (WHY DO I CARE???). I guess we’re all riding in the same sober car and dealing with the same shit – we’ll just keep on reaching out to our friends in the sobersphere!!

    • Hi Jen Yep re-joined, and re-joined and re-joined time and time again!!! Isn’t it crazy that we CARE so much about whether or not we make people uncomfortable when we drink. I”m sure I made quite a FEW people uncomfortable when I had too much to drink – but of course I don’t care when I’m hammered, so it didn’t really dawn on me. Yep – beep beep and let’s just keep cranking the music up! Congrats on 21 days – that is awesome!!!

What Are Your Thoughts?

