Careful…There is Some “WHINE”ing in this Post

Wah, wah, wah. Why is it that the week of Belle’s class that work multiplies by about 127 and I am in full prep mode for my first day teaching the little ones on Sunday, and we are heading out to a concert tonight, and I can’t sleep to save my freakin’ life lately, and I am feeling anxious and grumpy and tired and all of the terrible things you are not supposed to get to b/c they may trigger a drink.

For some reason, Wolfie has not called out to me yet…with the exception of Saturday night. I know he is out there…lurking, hiding, waiting for the right time to skulk up behind me and whisper in my ear. Don’t worry Wolfie, my guard is UP. I know you do not give up so easily and you are probably have a silly grin on your face thinking that you have already beaten me…but you haven’t. You see, I am in control of this shit. Me and me alone, so you can take your sorry ass wolfish grin and those beady little eyes and SHOVE IT. Don’t even think about coming near me tonight or you will regret it.

Yep – that’s what all of these emotions have done to me today – just made me a little bit mean. But it’s all good – better mean than drinking.

I would just about kill for a nap right now, but instead I guess it will be a quick shower so we can head out to the concert. Just me and the hubs (who doesn’t drink) so no plans to drink…although I’m not gonna lie…not sure when I last saw a show sober was. Can I even dance without alcohol? I sure hope so, and if not, oh well. I would contemplate a Monster Energy drink, except I have a headache on top of all this and I think that would make it worse.

Probably the shortest post I’ve ever written and some of you are probably breathing a sigh of relief! Yay – for once she hasn’t written something equivalent to the length of War & Peace. Ha ha.

Looking forward to a FUN evening once I figure out if I even own anything hip and happening so I can go shake my groove thang 🙂

Peace out,

MG

7 thoughts on “Careful…There is Some “WHINE”ing in this Post

  1. You will have a wonderful time. As to the sleep…one word – Benedryl. A caution, Benedryl can have the opposite effect if you take too much so I’d take just one. It’s the same dosage that’s in two Tylenol PM but without the Tylenol to mess with your liver.

    HAVE FUN and YES!!! You CAN dance sober. In fact, you’ll be surprised how much better you dance when your balance isn’t fucked!

    • Thank GOD my balance wasn’t fucked because man were there some steep stairs in that venue, with no handrails! It was more of chair dancing, and about to blog about it, but just seeing your kind words as I was getting ready gave me some extra encouragement, so thanks!

  2. Have a great time! At least you’ll remember the music. My first concert was a complete blackout. I was 16, never drank before, and downed vodka straight from the bottle. One minute I was saying, “This doesn’t affect me at all” and the next thing I remember is the lead singer saying, “Thank you! Good night!”

  3. Not sleeping sucks big time – hopefully you will manage to shake some of that angst out & grind it into the dance floor. Have you tried a sleep meditation CD? I have one downloaded on my phone and play it every night. The kids tease me that it is my most played music on my ITunes list 🙂 The longer I use it the better it works.

    • I have not tried a meditation CD – probably b/c my hubby is usually sound asleep by the time I finally crawl into bed and I’m worried about waking him up. I have tried some herbal supplements, both Melatonin and Valerian Root, and though the first is supposed to be an instant zap, it just doesn’t quite do it for me. I probably need to focus some on shutting down my brain earlier – that’s what it seems to be – composing emails in my mind (which I might as well get up and write the damn things b/c I had a great one going the other day that lost its awesomeness overnight). But no technology after 7 PM will be a start, and maybe trying the sleep meditation thing as well. Thanks for the idea!

      • Lol no probs – I used to worry about keeping my hubby awake with it as well but he quite likes it now. Not that he is ever awake past the introductory music! Played very quietly it makes you really listen to for it and helps me to stay focussed on it. I also take magnesium every night as well. Glad to see you taking care of yourself and dosing up on chicken soup. Take care, hope you feel better soon.

What Are Your Thoughts?

